gallery Aleppo Soap

There is an introduction of a new line of body care in Carrefour that I’ve noticed that is all Natural and I knew I needed to try it out especially because there are so many chemically filled products that we use in our daily lives.

For centuries soap was made in an artisanal way with animal grease or vegetable oil and was often made at home. Over the years due to the lack of money people started to seek soaps and that is how we have synthetic soaps in the market today.  Natural soaps have become a luxury, and an expensive and in certain cases rightly so: it takes at least nine months of drying to obtain a small soap bar of Aleppo! So I bring you (well not me per se) Aleppo Soap aka Savon D’Alep made with Olea Europaea (Olive Oil), Laurus Nobilis (Bay Leaf Oil), Sodium Hydroxide (Lye) and Aqua (Water). Aleppo soap is made only with 4 essential ingredients and without any dye, perfume and additive. Aleppo soap is named after the city in which it was first made Aleppo, Syria and its history goes back to 8th century, but Aleppo soap makers say it existed well before that and is one of the oldest soap in the world.

The Process:

The traditional way of manufacturing this soap was using the “hot process” method but the modern version of the soap is made using a “cold process” method. Pure Aleppo soap has a very earthy scent and the scent of the laurel can vary depending on the concentration of the laurel bay essential oil. A typical range is between 2% to 30%, which also determines the final cost and colour of the soap. If the soap is a pale yellow or ivory it means it has a low amount of laurel oil, if the color is more towards golden or brown it means it is rich in laurel oil. However, the inside of the soap remains green and you can see that for yourself if you buy one and cut it in half.

After the mass of soap is left to cool down and harden for a day, workers cut it into cubes, stamp them with the manufacturer’s brand name and place them on racks in special underground chambers and left to age for several months up to a year.

During the aging process, any alkaline content that didn’t react during saponification slowly breaks down in contact with air and water content gradually decreases, making the soap bars harder.

Benefits:

  • Olive Oil: gives the soap a creamy consistency and makes it especially gentle and moisturizing. It helps restore your skin’s natural balance, it has a mild anti-inflammatory effect reducing redness and irritation and it is usually well tolerated even by the most sensitive skin types.
  • Laurel Oil: is the key ingredient and the amount can range between 2% to 30%. The higher the amount of laurel oil, the more gentler it will be to the skin and more expensive due to its properties of being a strong antibacterial, antiviral and antifungal agent. Further, Laurel bay oil is not only amazing when it comes to healing various skin problems such as acne, eczema, psoriasis, herpes, bacterial dermatitis, fungal infections, irritated skin but also for scalp problems like dandruff, seborrhoeic dermatitis and others. If the soap is a pale yellow or ivory it means it has a low amount of laurel oil, if the color is more towards golden or brown it means it is rich in laurel oil. However, the inside of the soap remains green and you can see that for yourself if you buy one and cut it in half.

My Experience:

If I had to pick one word to describe my experience I’d have to say Amazing!!! I use it not only on my hair but also on my body and my hair and skin loves it!! Since I follow the Curly Girl Method I am always look out for products that are CG friendly. When it comes to shampoo I need to find something sulfate free without too many non drying ingredients and because I oil my hair before every hair wash (I need else my mane gets cranky and frizzy). The first time I used this bar of soap I was surprised because even though it cleaned my hair by removing the oil it did not strip my hair and made it feel like hay. The lower the amount of laurel oil the more intense the soap will be. This soap is definitely worth a try and it even comes in different strengths and scents. It does lather but nothing compared to the regular shampoos.

Hope you’ll enjoyed this post.

Until next time, thank you for stopping by and sharing some love.

Leave a Reply

